Talking About Legacies + Updates on Media

I must tell you, it’s exhausting writing e-mails to media professionals around the world, trying to get them to cover the story of class bias at Wash. U. and at elite American colleges in general. If more media professionals would actually answer me, I’d really be tired.

Recently, I’ve been talking to an editor at a publication that is planning to do an article. More details on that later.

Yesterday, Gary Glennell Toms interviewed me for his show The G-Man Interviews. That episode will be available sometime next week and I’ll post a link then. (I wrote about The G-Man Interviews on this blog late last year, particularly an episode about Carolyn Bryant and the Emmett Till case.)

That was my first recorded media interview and I think it showed. I’d heard that time seems to move really fast during such interviews, and that’s true. But I think it went well. I don’t believe I made any misstatements. If I did, I’ll post a correction. (I’m not The New York Times.)

I also talked to Ron Herd, the Artivist, who is going to interview me on his program, W.E.A.L.L.B.E. Radio. More on that soon.

The upshot of all this is that two pieces that are nearly finished, and that I hoped to have posted this week, are going to have to wait until next week. One is another open letter and the other is a piece analyzing discrimination in college admissions and offering specific proposals to end it.

For one thing, we need to eliminate legacy preferences, a grossly aristocratic form of bias in favor of children of rich (and mostly white) alumni.

Recently, college applicants have been receiving acceptances, rejections, and wait-listings. If you applied this year and didn’t get into one of the colleges on your list, I encourage you to investigate whether that institution grants legacy preferences. If they do, and you aren’t a legacy, why not write and ask them whether they admitted any legacies with records weaker than yours? (If you’re a legacy and you still didn’t get in, you really messed up.)

The officials at the college may not reply, which is its own kind of answer. If they do reply, I predict one of three results.

1. They will look evasive.

2. They will look stupid

3. They will look evasive and stupid.

Whether they answer or not, you could post the results. Let’s put social media to good use for a change. You can also send me the answers you receive at: classblog@zoho.com or on Twitter @ChrisPepus.

Think about it, won’t you? And thanks for reading.

