Thanks to Class Action for Posting My Story on Their Facebook Page

The team at Class Action have linked my resignation letter on their Facebook page. If you haven’t visited Class Action before, the group is a non-profit that fights prejudice based on social class, as well as other forms of prejudice.

If you’ve come to my blog from Class Action, you might be interested in this post on media coverage of first-generation college students. Also, a couple weeks ago, I persuaded The New York Times to fix errors in an article. But not before the editor insulted me in a manner that expressed contempt for working-class people. You can read about that here.

While you’re here, please take a look at this post on discrimination against working-class whites in higher education and its dire consequences.

Likewise, you can find a lot of useful information on Class Action’s Facebook page and web site. Their writers point out class bias in media (a full-time job in itself) and address the growing problem of student debt.

Class Action also provides links to stories of low-income and first-generation college students, such as this one submitted by an anonymous student to Stanford Class Confessions.

“Today a professor, in going through the background lab material for the class, kept referring to how much ‘we’d all seen in high school already’. I felt so uncomfortable because I never really saw anything he discussed in my high school because the school couldn’t afford to do any of the labs.”

Thanks to Betsy Leondar-Wright and everyone at Class Action for helping me get the word out, and for their daily work on class issues.

